Mitchell Pearson – Executive Director
Jessamine Tourism Commission
102 South First Street
Nicholasville, Kentucky 40356
Phone: (859) 305-6040
Come for the abundant natural beauty, friendly atmosphere, wealth of activities, rich history and lively local arts and music scene. Stay for the diverse economy, entrepreneurial opportunities and the glory of seasonal climate.
Early settlers were attracted to what later became Jessamine County, because of four significant natural springs that spontaneously flowed from the earth and seemed to be never failing.
By 1798 plans for a town were laid out by local Reverend John Metcalf. The town’s name honors Revolutionary War Colonel George Nicholas, who is celebrated as Kentucky’s first Attorney General and the father of Kentucky’s State Constitution.
Wilmore was established in 1876 by the Cincinnati Southern Railroad as a flag stop with the construction of the nearby High Bridge Railroad trestle on the Kentucky River. The bridge was the highest in the world in 1877, an engineering marvel of its time. The train stop was named Scotts Station for a large land owner near the new railroad track, but a dispute between the owner and the railroad resulted in the name being changed to Wilmore in honor of another land owner. In 1882 a general store was begun and by 1898 there were several businesses in town.
The Jessamine Tourism Commission welcomes you!
Jessamine Tourism Commission:
Tommy Cobb – President
Doug Fain – Vice President
Joy Watson – Secretary
Roberta Warren – Treasurer
The Nicholasville Tourism Commission meets the third Thursday of each month at 11:00 a.m. in the Jessamine County Chamber of Commerce Board Room.